Why do some people hate Stack Overflow?

Stackundertow is an interesting dichotomy.

I should explain a bit. I am a very experienced developer, and a pretty solid researcher in the code quality space. Published, cited, patents, etc etc. Without seeming immodest, I’ve worked on some pretty leading edge stuff for a long time. But I also tackle new things all the time, as do many of you. I’ve had to learn about 12 languages well, some of which have no use anymore. ( unless you need some Forth and APL, in which case, call me ) I’ve also managed large commercial organizations, up to about 3B in sales ( not a typo). I’m 65 and damn happy abo

Stackundertow is an interesting dichotomy.

I should explain a bit. I am a very experienced developer, and a pretty solid researcher in the code quality space. Published, cited, patents, etc etc. Without seeming immodest, I’ve worked on some pretty leading edge stuff for a long time. But I also tackle new things all the time, as do many of you. I’ve had to learn about 12 languages well, some of which have no use anymore. ( unless you need some Forth and APL, in which case, call me ) I’ve also managed large commercial organizations, up to about 3B in sales ( not a typo). I’m 65 and damn happy about it.

But lets say I want to learn a new language, say Python. Like everyone, things don’t work. But I am a pretty good judge of when I’m stuck because of something conceptually tough or something just nitty that i am missing. So I post my first question on SO. The fun begins.

SO seems to reward trolls by improving their reputation based on a bunch of things that don’t matter.

Someone nicely rewrites my request and cleans up some extra words. Thats nice. No value, since the english was good enough but hey, whatever.

Then someone gets on and downvotes the question as being “too vague”. No suggestions on whats vague ( we will come back to this guy later)