How can one learn how to think more efficiently about problems and analyze possible solutions thoroughly?

Back in the early 80's, as a project manager, I have had the wonderful opportunity to learn and acquire the Kepner Tregoe Problem Solving and Decision Making Method, which comprises the following methodologies:

• Situation-analysis – this clarifies the problem situation (what happened).
  • Problem analysis – here the actual cause of the problem and the relationship between cause and result are searched for (why did it happen).
  • Decision analysis – based on the decision making criteria, choices are made to arrive at potential problem resolutions (how should we act).
  • Potential Problem analysis –here pote

Back in the early 80's, as a project manager, I have had the wonderful opportunity to learn and acquire the Kepner Tregoe Problem Solving and Decision Making Method, which comprises the following methodologies:

• Situation-analysis – this clarifies the problem situation (what happened).
  • Problem analysis – here the actual cause of the problem and the relationship between cause and result are searched for (why did it happen).
  • Decision analysis – based on the decision making criteria, choices are made to arrive at potential problem resolutions (how should we act).
  • Potential Problem analysis –here potential future problems are anticipated and preventative actions are developed (what will the result be).

You can read more about it here:

Thinking About Problems: Kepner-Tregoe®

To me, in retrospect, this proprietary clear thinking approach has turned out be a very worthwhile investment!

I am not sure this applies in every case but I knew someone who, as a teenager, had trouble concentrating. He was advised to take up the game of Chess, especially Tournament Chess. It must have worked, he is a practicing Dentist today.