Could I use a cloud database like Firebase instead of making my own backend?

Yes you could, and almost certainly should, use a cloud database like the Realtime Database or Cloud Firestore instead of building your own database from scratch.

However, you’ll need somewhere to put the logic for accessing this data. You could:

1. Use Firebase cloud functions. I have no experience using these, but have seen them around in the docs.
  2. Set up a web server or Kubernetes cluster that receives HTTP requests, performs CRUD (create, read, update and delete) operations on the database and sends a corresponding response to the client.
  3. Embed the logic for CRUD operations in your client applica

Yes you could, and almost certainly should, use a cloud database like the Realtime Database or Cloud Firestore instead of building your own database from scratch.

However, you’ll need somewhere to put the logic for accessing this data. You could:

1. Use Firebase cloud functions. I have no experience using these, but have seen them around in the docs.
  2. Set up a web server or Kubernetes cluster that receives HTTP requests, performs CRUD (create, read, update and delete) operations on the database and sends a corresponding response to the client.
  3. Embed the logic for CRUD operations in your client application. It seems like Firebase almost wants users to do this, but it has risks and might not be the most efficient route either.

Firebase databases offer great realtime functionality, other databases like Amazon RDS are good for other things. You might even want to use multiple databases for separate things. Instacart uses both of the above. Choose the right way of accessing whatever database you land on for your use case.

Well sure you could use a cloud based database. But you’d still need some sort of a backend… A program would need to run somewhere to control access to the database for storing and retrieving the data.