Can mathematics help you with your reasoning skills?

A2A

Yes.

Reasoning in logical steps and not accepting leaps which violate the rules of math can be applied to other sub and objects and other lines of reasoning.

I think so.

When I studied mathematics in college I also also studied logic, both formal and symbolic. Logic is a key element of mathematical proof, and mathematical reasoning employs the same logical skills as other problems, only dealing with different objects.

The most useful thing I learned in math was rigor, a discipline of insuring that every assumption is documented and that all cases are accounted for.

I don't know how useful advice to just "practice" or "study" is, because very few people are capable of productively investing huge amounts of time in something they don't care about. To learn math you need to find a problem you actually want to think about and then just start exploring it.

Here are some various questions of different natures you might consider:

• A raw audio file that lasts five minutes might take nearly 100 MB on disk. Compressed into an mp3 file it only takes a tiny fraction of that. How does this work? Can you write your own mp3 encoder/decoder/player from scratch?
  • By exami

I don't know how useful advice to just "practice" or "study" is, because very few people are capable of productively investing huge amounts of time in something they don't care about. To learn math you need to find a problem you actually want to think about and then just start exploring it.

Here are some various questions of different natures you might consider:

• A raw audio file that lasts five minutes might take nearly 100 MB on disk. Compressed into an mp3 file it only takes a tiny fraction of that. How does this work? Can you write your own mp3 encoder/decoder/player from scratch?